IM2021

www.im2021.org

  Schedule

of the 27th International Meeting of Collectors and Researchers of Slide Rules and other Historic Computing Instruments.

This year's IM will be a ZOOM online conference due to the COVID pandemic. So there is not only the classical issue of defining a schedule for the meeting, but also the issue of time zones, as we will have participants from around the globe. This page will outline both.

A detailled programme with the names of speakers and the titles of their presentations will follow later.

schedule
of the
conference
  Saturday, 2021-09-11:
    15:00 - 16:00 CEST
    >   gathering / fixing technical problems / social hour
    >   introduction of new participants
    16:00 - 18:00 CEST
    >   opening
    >   motto session on collecting computing instruments
    18:00 - 19:00 CEST
    >   break / discussions / social hour
    19:00 - 21:00 CEST
    >   mechanical calculators
    21:00 ...
    >   general discussions, open end

Sunday, 2021-09-12:

    16:00 - 18:00 CEST
    >    slide rules
    18:00 - 19:00 CEST
    >   break / social hour
    19:00 - 21:00 CEST
    >   logarithm tables
    >   reports & announcements by OS, UKSRC, RST, KRING
    >   IM2022 announcement / invitation
    >   slide rule auction by the Oughtred Society
    >   end of IM programme
    21:00 ...
    >   open end

time zones   We expect the most participants from the following four time zones. Your local time for other time zones should easily be deduced from the times given below.
CEST Central European Summer Time
UTC+2: Berlin, Amsterdam, Rome, Paris, Madrid
This is the reference time for the meeting, as traditionally most of its participants are from this time zone. The programme blocks will start at 16:00 CEST and 19:00 CEST.
BST British Summer Time
UTC+1, CEST-1: London
16:00 CEST = 15:00 BST & 19:00 CEST = 18:00 BST
EDT Eastern Daytime Time
UTC-4, CEST-6: Boston, New York, Washington DC
16:00 CEST = 10:00 EDT & 19:00 CEST = 13:00 EDT
PDT Pacific Daytime Time
UTC-7, CEST-9: San Francisco
16:00 CEST = 07:00 PDT & 19:00 CEST = 10:00 PDT
I'm sorry for the participants on the US west coast for the early hours, but modifications of the globe to fix that and the resulting time zones are unfortuntely beyond the current capabilities of the IM organizer - and the same holds for the participants from down under.